Onward Into the Deep!

Dice - smallWelcome to my new blog about all things nerd and geek!

I’ve always been at least a bit of a nerd, sometimes more so than others.  But, I’ve always enjoyed tinkering and building, painting and fiddling, worrying about all sorts of minute details on whatever projects I would work.  I’m a lazy person, by nature.  However, I’m also very picky about details, when I feel it’s important.

This mentality often puts me in the position of reading instructions, working on cosmetic details, giving directions, and so on.  So, when we’re sitting at the table with a new game, I’m the one figuring everything out.  All-in-all, this isn’t a bad thing.  And it’s been leading me into a whole new world of fantasy and tabletop games that are complex and wonderful.

As most people do, we started out playing the typical family-style games like Life or Uno.  But, those games do tend to get a bit old after a while.  Then we discovered Carcassonne, the beloved tile-laying, meeple-placing game of medieval lords, castles, cities, and pastures.  We still love playing Carcassonne.  It’s a great game!  But we needed more complexity, and that’s where the rest of our collection comes into play.

Most of our games are categorized as “Euro-style” games, meaning they involve worker placement and resource management.  Favorites include:  Lords of Waterdeep, Pandemic, Forbidden Island, Ticket to Ride, Agricola, Terra Mystica, and many more.  We also enjoy card games (typically deck-builders) with complexity or strategy, like:  Dominion, Ascension, Strife, and Star Realms.  But, lately, we’ve been dipping our toes into the waters of fantasy games.  (I blame my wife, as she bought me Defenders of the Realm for Christmas!)

And this leads us to role-playing games (RPGs).  I suppose this was the inevitable course we would take, based on the progression of our game library.

I’ve just started playing an adventure in Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition (D&D 5e), having never played any type of RPG before in my life.  I had mentioned to a couple friends that I had some interest, and was immediately surprised to hear that they also played D&D.  They invited me to join the party, and I jumped right in, building a ranger character from scratch.  So far, it’s been a ton of fun!  Roleplaying is a bit strange when you first try it.  But, when I’m in the company of my fellow friends and gamers, it’s easier to get into the story as my character and really engage my imagination.  I can’t wait to continue our adventures!

The more I read about adventures, monsters, treasure, and magic, the more I keep thinking it would be awesome to run my own game.  I could build a world and lead my friends on an adventure of epic proportions!  And so, I’ve picked up the D&D Dungeon Master’s Guide and Monster Manual to peruse.  I still think I’m a little ways off from attempting to run a game as the Dungeon Master (DM), but I still have a serious itch to give it a go.  I just need to gather some players.

So, anyway, that’s a crash course in my gaming background.  I plan to add plenty more to this blog, as I continue to follow my interest in RPGs, learn to paint miniatures, and play new tabletop games.  If there’s a topic you’d like me to address, feel free to comment, and I just might feature it in an upcoming post!

Leave a Reply

