Painting Minis – The Wizard… I think.

Welcome back!

It seems I’m doing quite a bit of writing about mini painting, and not so much D&D or games.  But, it’s what I’ve been doing the most lately, so I suppose it makes sense.

This particular mini is from Reaper, but he’s one of their pewter minis.  I picked him up because I really love wizards.  I mean, who wouldn’t want to shoot fireballs, summon fierce animals, or raise the dead?  (Okay, maybe not so much the last one… but you get the idea, right?)  Wizards just have so many cool things they can do in the realms of fantasy, that I’m pretty sure everyone has dreamed about what it would be like to be a powerful wizard.

His colors may seem a bit off to you, though.  And that’s because I ended up painting him in anticipation of joining my very first D&D game.  As I planned out my character, I started with a rogue, but I wanted to do some really cool stuff.  So, I decided that I would multi-class as a ranger/sorcerer.  I didn’t have any ranger minis at the time, so I tried painting him up as a spell-casting ranger.

I’m not terribly thrilled with how he came out.  But, as usual, I learned a few things along the way.  The biggest tidbit that I picked up was to be careful with where you apply a wash.  You’ll notice that his cloak is pretty blotchy from the dark wash that I applied.  When I painted him, I hadn’t really thought to only apply the wash in the crevices of the models.  In fact, many beginner painting tutorials suggested to simply wash the entire model, and so that’s what I did.  If you do this, you’d better apply an even coat and do it quickly.  If any of the wash dries, it’ll leave a darker edge around the patch that’s drying.  That is exactly what kept happening on the wizard.  His skin also ended up a bit grayish… so, maybe a Duergar mage?

Since he’s a metal mini, I could (and probably will) strip the paint off and re-paint him, at some point.  But, for now, here’s what he looks like.

Wizard - Front-smWizard - Rear-sm

Leave a Reply

