Source of Inspiration – Warhammer 40K

WH40K - 1

WH40K - 2

Click to enlarge

The missus and I were out and about tonight, wandering around the local thrift store to see what goodies and great deals we could find for our upcoming move.  (Cue the Macklemore…)

While she was off perusing the clothing, I went into the book section to see if they had anything interesting for me to flip through.  I was actually looking for books on woodworking when I ran across this book.  It’s the core rulebook for Warhammer 40,000, a tabletop war game of epic proportions.

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

While I don’t play Warhammer 40K,   I was not only surprised to see the book at a thrift store, but it was under $5!  I just couldn’t pass up checking it out.  So, I picked it up and looked through it to see if there was anything interesting in it for me as a D&D player (and hopeful, up-and-coming GM).  It actually has some excellent ideas, strategies, and tactics, not only for players of Warhammer 40K, but it also can provide some great inspiration for those who play and run D&Dgames.  Well, okay.  Maybe some of these topics do not translate directly.  But as I scanned various topics, I could see suggestions for combat scenarios, general overviews for painting minis, DIY terrain (if you enjoy minis and terrain in your D&D games), and more.  Just the sheer volume of photos of painted armies was amazing, not to mention a bunch of awesome artwork.

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

I can’t wait to start picking through this book to see what I can apply to games as I start writing up my own encounters!

Where do you draw inspiration from for your games?  Any unusual places or other games?  Feel free to share down in the comments!

Leave a Reply

