DM’ing for Charity

Thanksgiving weekend.  What did you do?  What do most people do?  Gather with family and friends?  Eat a mountain of home-cooked food?  Watch football?  How about run a D&D game?

That’s precisely what I did over the holiday weekend.  My local game shop, Gryphon Games & Comics, hosted an event to raise money for a charity, spanning all day Friday and Saturday.  I’d never run a game at the shop before, only at home.  It was a new experience for me.  An experience that had me a bit nervous, as I’m still relatively new to being a DM, let alone playing D&D.  New players.  New location.  I wasn’t sure what to expect.

My mission was to run a fairly straightforward Adventurer’s League module, DDAL05-01: Treasure of the Broken Horde.  This module is actually a series of five mini-adventures or encounters, each with a different setting, but with a common theme:  you’re aspiring adventurers hired to locate and recover valuable treasure caches hidden by the Cult of the Dragon.

I ran this adventure twice, on both Friday and Saturday mornings, and it went pretty smoothly.  The module is well-written and to-the-point, being easy and straightforward to run and play.  While I don’t want to give away any spoilers, the caches take players around the Graypeak mountain range, engaging them in various encounters with goblins, giants, magic, traps, and the possibility of lasting consequences in later adventures. These mini-adventures made the players think and second-guess themselves at times, debating between easy treasure and the right thing to do.  For being so simple, they had plenty of depth for low-level characters.

Thanks go out to all who helped put this event together.  I’m glad that I got to help raise money for a good cause, that the event was a great success, and that the players at my tables had a great time.  If you’re a DM and have an opportunity to do an event like this, I highly recommend giving it a try.  I think you’ll enjoy it as much as I did.

Unfortunately, I completely forgot to snap some photos.  If I run across any from others, I’ll try to post a few.

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving weekend!

Oh, and P.S., I also played 3 more of the sessions during the charity event (including my first Tier 3 [levels 11-16] adventure!), and then participated in Adventurer’s League at the shop for two more sessions on Sunday.  It was a long, but very fun weekend!

Leave a Reply

